First carry arm

Ohioans For Concealed Carry seeks to be a welcoming and friendly community of gun owners. If you've just created your account or just became a member online please take a moment to introduce yourself here.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

bigcofnc93

First carry arm

Post by bigcofnc93 »

Hello. This is my first post. A little background about myself. I am not currently old enough to purchase a handgun and do not have my ccw yet. I work in the field of private security and upon turning 21 will try to take on armed contracts. I am currently in an OPOTA private security training course. When I complete I will be eligible to obtain my ccw and carry as a guard. I am trying to get an idea of what my first hand gun purchase will be. I am thinking something along the lines of a glock 19, in terms of striker fired safe action. I need something cancelable reliable and can double for service use. Hopefully I will never have to use if I do I want to know it will work. Sorry if this is long winded. All help is greatly appreciated.
Keep your powder dry.
Tourist
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Re: First carry arm

Post by Tourist »

Welcome to the forum.

When you are able to (of age or with a responsible adult), try to rent and try various handguns until you find the one you like. I would also point out that some employers require a certain brand and type handgun, so that may affect your choice.
Stryker74
OFCC Member
OFCC Member

Post by Stryker74 »

Welcome to the forums!

Your OPOTA training for security probably got most of the aspects of the required training for CHL - but there are some that probably were not covered. I doubt the CHL laws from the AG pamphlet were discussed - that alone would probably negate you being able to use your current training.

Also, there are other aspects (like was the class open to the public, or did your employer sent you to it?) that could affect your ability to use it for CHL.