Selling a Gun Out of State (Sort Of)

Discussion of Firearm Politics & Legislation. This forum is now strictly limited to discussions directly related to firearms.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

synack2

Selling a Gun Out of State (Sort Of)

Post by synack2 »

So,

I have a good friend that wants to buy one of my guns. I recently moved just across the state line in Richomnd, IN. He wants to buy the gun as a gift for his father who still lives in Ohio. Rather than transferring it to a IN FFL so he can transfer it back. Can I take the money from him and deliver it to his father? Or is that a Straw Purchase.
Carry everyday everywhere you legally can. I carry a Ruger LCP2 or a Glock 42. Find me on YouTube as FrugalPrepper
WY_Not
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Re: Selling a Gun Out of State (Sort Of)

Post by WY_Not »

Been a while and I am NOT a lawyer or an FFL. But, the way it was explained to me a number of years back when I bought a few in pairs (for me and the wife).

Are both you and he Indiana residents? Then you can F2F sell it to him without an FFL. It is legal to buy a firearm for someone as a gift. Friend would have to supply the funds to buy it (ie this makes it a gift) and would have to go through an FFL (IN to OH) to give it to his dad. As long as the dad is not supplying the funds to buy, it isn't a straw sale.

If your friend is still an OH resident then it would have to go to him via FFL. He is then free to give it to his dad as a gift. Again, dad is not supplying the funds.
Learn how Project Appleseed is supporting freedom through Marksmanship and Heritage clinics.
Samuel Adams wrote:If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.
JustaShooter