New Resident with out of State License Questions

If you have questions or know the answers to questions about the application and renewal process this forum is for you. Post your experiences or ask your new applicant questions here.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

Snafu57

New Resident with out of State License Questions

Post by Snafu57 »

Mods please move if this is the wrong forum.

I just moved here to Ohio last month from Pa I have a License to Carry a Firearm permit from PA that is good through the end of February. I know there is reciprocity between Ohio and Pa, but now that I am an Ohio resident am I still able to carry on my PA permit until I am able to obtain an Ohio CCW permit? I am scheduled to take a an Ohio CCW class but I just wanted to make sure I’m on the right side of the law in the mean time. Any help would be appreciated.
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: New Resident with out of State License Questions

Post by JustaShooter »

You can carry on your PA license for up to 6 months after establishing residence in Ohio. After that, you must either have an Ohio license or a license form a state that has a written reciprocity agreement.

See ORC 109.69 (B)(1) and (B)(2)
(B)