Application question - lived in Ohio for 5 years?

If you have questions or know the answers to questions about the application and renewal process this forum is for you. Post your experiences or ask your new applicant questions here.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

ohporter

Application question - lived in Ohio for 5 years?

Post by ohporter »

I moved back into state (been gone since before CCW) a couple years ago. Just finished my course and am finishing the application at the moment. One question intrigues the wannabe-lawyer in me.

"Have you lived in Ohio for 5 years or more?"

Well, it doesn't say continuously. I was an Ohio resident for about 24 years, then was an AZ resident for 11 years. Now I'm an Ohio resident again for the last two years.

So, yeah, I've lived in Ohio for 5 years or more. :P

I suspect they mean for the past 5 years. I called up the Deputy listed on the Wayne County CCW web page and asked the question. He gave me an answer that indicated that he had no clue, "They're most interested in the last 5 years". Which, of course, doesn't answer my question. :?

So, anyway, I guess I'll just attempt to clarify how they want me to answer that question when I drop into the office tomorrow morning.

I'm curious if anybody else has had this clarified before.
color of law
*** Banned ***

Post by color of law »

That question is not in the law. Answer yes, you have lived in Ohio for more than 5 years. Does not mean in the last 5 years.
ORC 2923.1210

(1)(a) Are you legally living in the United States? .... YES .... NO

(b) Have you been a resident of Ohio for at least forty-five days and have you been a resident for thirty days of the county with whose sheriff you are filing this application or of a county adjacent to that county? .... YES .... NO

(2) Are you at least twenty-one years of age? .... YES .... NO

(3) Are you a fugitive from justice? .... YES .... NO