Are Dies Compatible with Different Presses

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

synack2

Are Dies Compatible with Different Presses

Post by synack2 »

Alright,

I am a brand spanking newbie. I have had a bunch of reloading stuff in storage for years, and it's time to break it out. I needed small pistol primers and finally procured some, and I have everything else. I am going to load 380, but just found out I don't have the dies for it. My other dies sets are the Lee Precision 3 piece carbide die sets. I am having a hard time locating this set in 380 right now. I have a opportunity to buy a RCBS 3 die set for 380, but I don't know if the dies will interchange with a Lee Starter Kit or not.

My Kit is this one "https://leeprecision.com/50th-anniversa ... r-kit.html"

And the Dies I am looking at are like these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/RCBS-380-ACP-A ... SweFlgU3vI" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I don't know if these dies will fit in my lee press and work or not.
Carry everyday everywhere you legally can. I carry a Ruger LCP2 or a Glock 42. Find me on YouTube as FrugalPrepper
Whirlwind06
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Re: Are Dies Compatible with Different Presses

Post by Whirlwind06 »

You should be fine.
https://support.leeprecision.net/en/kno ... nd-presses" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
All of our presses, and just about all of our die sets, use 7/8"-14 threads, which is industry standard.

The only exception will be some large rifle calibers use our Large Series Dies that have a 1 1/4"-12 thread pattern. The only press capable of using these Large Series dies will be our Classic Cast Press. The Classic Cast Press is designed to work with both 7/8"-14 and 1 1/4"-12 thread dies, by means of a threaded adapter.
Post any questions you have on getting up and running.
Dave Shooter

Post by Dave Shooter »