Open Carry and Vehicles?

Open Carry is carrying a firearm unconcealed in Ohio. OC does not require a concealed handgun license, but the practice requires intimate knowledge of the law since there are places and situations where OC is prohibited but carrying concealed would be permitted. OC is also likely to attract attention. This forum is for discussion of OC, not for debating the pro's and con's or coordinating any type of protest events.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

ShawnK1017

Open Carry and Vehicles?

Post by ShawnK1017 »

The title basically says it all! How is it possible to legally open carry in Ohio when you're in a vehicle? I'm currently working on getting my CHL but I'd like to open carry in the meantime. I find it rather pointless since I'm a delivery driver and spend most of my day in the car. I've read the laws but they're very confusing. I know if the gun and magazine aren't in enclosed separate containers the gun has to go in the trunk or a rack or "holder" made for the purpose. So would it be legal to have my gun holstered openly on my hip with a snapped thumb break and have the magazine in a separate magazine holster or pouch so that way I can load it easily in the event someone trys to rob me? I'm just trying to find a way to legally protect myself until I get my CHL so if anyone has any experience or advice here I'd really appreciate it. Thanks everyone!
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: Open Carry and Vehicles?

Post by JustaShooter »

ShawnK1017 wrote:So would it be legal to have my gun holstered openly on my hip with a snapped thumb break and have the magazine in a separate magazine holster or pouch so that way I can load it easily in the event someone trys to rob me?
I'm afraid not, sorry.