First Time Handgun Buyer

This forum is for discussion of general issues regarding Concealed Carry in your everyday life. This forum is not intended to be political or for discussing legislation.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

Pookster6813

First Time Handgun Buyer

Post by Pookster6813 »

Hello, I am a Ohio resident who has recently felt that my self security is a priority, I have completed a Concealed Carry Course and I am waiting for my county to process my application. I understand that a lot of people have different opinions on manufacturers and calibers but I have one major selling point that I hope you can understand as a first time buyer. I am on a strict fixed budget. So I would like to find a website or used seller who can point me in the right direction to get a 9mm 12 round as reasonable as possible. This firearm will be used only as a home security piece and I need reliable and cheap. Any suggestions? Again first time buyer. And I felt most comfortable with a 9mm handgun that's why it's my preference. Thank you in advance, GOD bless.
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: First Time Handgun Buyer

Post by JustaShooter »

You don't say what your budget is, but in 9mm inexpensive handguns with a capacity in the 12 round range, I'd probably be looking at a Ruger SR9.
Christian, Husband, Father
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
NRA Certified Pistol & Rifle Instructor

Want to become more active with OFCC and help fight for your rights? Click Here!
Javelin Man
OFCC Member
OFCC Member

Post by Javelin Man »

Keltec P11 0 round or Sccy would work well, both are 10 round but at least the Keltec and use a 12 round magazine by another manufacturer.

And another even more obvious answer would be the Taurus G2 P111 9mm. It holds 12 rounds if I remember correctly. I should look sometime, I own three. It currently goes for about $199 at Rural King.
Famous last words: "I just drank What?!-Socrates