CHL - Application - Disorderly Conduct MM Question

This forum is for discussion of general issues regarding Concealed Carry in your everyday life. This forum is not intended to be political or for discussing legislation.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

djbolgar

CHL - Application - Disorderly Conduct MM Question

Post by djbolgar »

Hello Everyone,

I am looking to obtain a CHL. I have gone through all the training requirements, however in February of 2003 I plead guilty to minor misdemeanor disorderly conduct in Portage County for fighting (509.03) when I was a college student in Kent, Ohio. I have had the conviction sealed, however when filling out the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Section III Question 8 asks: "Have you ever been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, a misdemeanor offense of violence, charge of domestic violence, or a similar offense, in this or any other state?" I am not sure if the state or sheriff would consider a minor misdemeanor disorderly conduct an "offense of violence", so I am not sure how to answer the question. I don't want to be dishonest on the application, but I also don't want to possibly be disqualified for a sealed conviction from 14 years ago either. Please let me know if anyone has any advice on how to answer this question.

Thanks,

Dave
MyWifeSaidYes
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: CHL - Application - Disorderly Conduct MM Question

Post by MyWifeSaidYes »

Do you know if the original charge was 2917.11(A)(1) or (A)(2) or another section?

The charge under (A)(1) may be considered a crime of violence (engaging in fighting, etc.) but a charge under (A)(2) may not (making unreasonable noise).

There are other sections that may be treated differently, so you might want to spend a couple dollars talking with an attorney.
MyWifeSaidYes
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by JustaShooter »