Arrested in Lakewood

This forum is for discussion of general issues regarding Concealed Carry in your everyday life. This forum is not intended to be political or for discussing legislation.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

Jode21258

Arrested in Lakewood

Post by Jode21258 »

I am a Geauga county resident. My hand gun was stolen from my car
The car was locked and the gun was in a holster between the front seats
I reported this to the local police in Chesterland and they took the serial number
and said they would check local pawns shops. The officer said because I have an older car with
non electric locks that they have been breaking into cars with flat bars stealing content and
then relocating an closing the doors.
Because I work in Lakewood I also reported with the Lakewood police that it could have been stolen
there. I reported the stolen gun went home and was asked the next day to come back to the station
to answer a few more questions. When I arrived and checked in I was promptly arrested for
not properly securing a handgun. Quite a different response then the Chesterland police.
I now have a court date and may be charged with a felony
medmandan

Re: Arrested in Lakewood

Post by medmandan »

Lawyer, not posting on the forum.

And methinks there is WAAAAAYYY more to the story.

LAWYER
Bianchi?

Post by Bianchi? »

I would highly suggest finding a lawyer ASAP and cease posting.
I've had consistently good results with ether.
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by JustaShooter »

Agreed, stop posting, get a lawyer - a good gun lawyer.

Personally, I'm trying to figure out what the charge is - I can't find anything in the ORC about not properly securing a handgun. Unless it is a local law, which probably violates ORC 9.68...
Christian, Husband, Father
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
NRA Certified Pistol & Rifle Instructor