9mm ammo difference explanation?

This is where you can talk about all equipment issues; firearms, ammunition, magazines, care & repair, holsters, gun cases, etc.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

CurtInOhio

9mm ammo difference explanation?

Post by CurtInOhio »

Ok, I'll admit I'm new to all this stuff, as of April this year. For my practice ammo, I just get FMJ 9mm stuff from Walmart, etc. But now I'm looking at Doubletap Ammo for 9mm, and, like lots of other defense ammo, it comes in 115, 127 and 145 grain. What are the actual differences? I've seen the numbers, but why choose one of the other? I'm one of those guys that needs to know the details to make my decision, not just be told to 'get this one'. Thanks for any help.
Curt M
Petrovich
*** Banned ***

Re: 9mm ammo difference explanation?

Post by Petrovich »

CurtInOhio wrote:Ok, I'll admit I'm new to all this stuff, as of April this year. For my practice ammo, I just get FMJ 9mm stuff from Walmart, etc. But now I'm looking at Doubletap Ammo for 9mm, and, like lots of other defense ammo, it comes in 115, 127 and 145 grain. What are the actual differences? I've seen the numbers, but why choose one of the other? I'm one of those guys that needs to know the details to make my decision, not just be told to 'get this one'. Thanks for any help.
There are probably several things to think about.

First off, remember that 115gr is kinda the 'standard' weight for 9mm parabellum....not that there really is such a thing as a standard bullet weight. Just bear in mind that is probably the most common weight slug used and NATO specs are 115gr. My guess is 115gr is the most efficient ballistically and is probably considered the most versatile.