When to trim rifle brass

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

Morne
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

When to trim rifle brass

Post by Morne »

So now that I've got some experience loading pistol rounds I figured I'd start playing with rifle rounds.

I know that rifle brass occasionally needs trimmed. Looking at .223 Rem it says max casing length is 1.760" with a 1.750" trim-to length. Does that mean that any length between those two numbers is good to go without trimming? Or is it smarter to just get in the habit of trimming to 1.750" each and every time you prep casings?
Thus spoke Zarathustra.

Footsoldier in the Conservative Insurrection of the GOP.

Remember, only you can prevent big government!
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: When to trim rifle brass

Post by JustaShooter »

I trim as a part of brass prep before each loading. Do you have to? No, as long as you haven't exceeded the max case length you don't need to trim, but to know if you need to trim you have to measure them and since each case will grow at a different rate you have to measure a noticeable percentage of them, so why not just trim and be done with it?

For me it makes sense, especially since I use a Lee trimmer attached to a cordless electric screw driver so trimming a case is a matter of chucking it into the case holder and spinning it a few seconds while applying the cutter with built-in case length gauge (and then doing an outer then inner chamfer of the case mouth to remove the burrs).
Christian, Husband, Father
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
NRA Certified Pistol & Rifle Instructor

Want to become more active with OFCC and help fight for your rights? Click Here!
The German

Post by The German »