Hawaii: Bill to put all gun owers into FBI database

Discussion of Firearm Politics & Legislation. This forum is now strictly limited to discussions directly related to firearms.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

rickt
OFCC Member
OFCC Member

Hawaii: Bill to put all gun owers into FBI database

Post by rickt »

I never heard of this database. Since I work in a school, I am wondering if I am already in there.
Hawaii could become the first state in the United States to enter gun owners into an FBI database that will automatically notify police if an island resident is arrested anywhere else in the country.

Most people entered in the “Rap Back” database elsewhere in the U.S. are those in “positions of trust,” such as school teachers and bus drivers, said Stephen Fischer of the FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division. Hawaii could be the first state to add gun owners.
http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories ... abase.html
catfish86
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Re: Hawaii: Bill to put all gun owers into FBI database

Post by catfish86 »

SERIOUS due process issues with this. Essentially putting someone exercising a constitutional right on a watch list that others are not with no "process" other than having bought a firearm in the past.
God,
Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can
and the Wisdom to know the difference.

Carrying a gun is a right, not a crime.

Gun control is racist.
WY_Not
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Post by WY_Not »

How is that any different than putting teachers, nurses, etc that have done nothing wrong any different?
catfish86 wrote:SERIOUS due process issues with this. Essentially putting someone exercising a constitutional right on a watch list that others are not with no "process" other than having bought a firearm in the past.
Learn how Project Appleseed is supporting freedom through Marksmanship and Heritage clinics.