buying a gun in a different state

Discussion of Firearm Politics & Legislation. This forum is now strictly limited to discussions directly related to firearms.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

dan_sayers

buying a gun in a different state

Post by dan_sayers »

The sale and purchasing of firearms is federally regulated. So you can imagine my disbelief when I first heard that if I were to purchase a gun in Michigan, the fact that I'm an Ohio resident would mean I would NOT be walking out with my new gun. So I thought I'd ask here for anybody to confirm or deny what I've been told. If it's true, perhaps even an explanation, if one's available. Please and thank you.
"Moderation in the defense of liberty is no virtue." - Ann Coulter
"Liberalism is part of a religious disorder that demands a belief that life is controllable." - Ann Coulter
By their fruits ye shall know them.
hiker

Post by hiker »

what you were told is correct. Buying across state lines requires the weapon be shipped to a FFL. The FFL in your resident state runs your background check & "transfers" the weapon to you.

Any gun shop will handle the transfer although transfer fees vary widely. (I've been quoted anywhere from $25 to $65, I'm told there are better deals out there.) You pay the out-of-state seller for the purchase plus shipping charges. The in-state dealer collects only the transfer fee. Or so it was with my one purchase out-of-state.

As to why, just a guess: State laws vary regarding purchase/handgun ownership. Some states require you to apply for/get a permit to own before buying a handgun. Easier for a FFL in your own state to verify local laws are observed in the sale/transfer.
CincinnastyKid
OFCC Member
OFCC Member

Post by CincinnastyKid »

I've always hated that law too since I live 15-20 minutes from the Indiana border and 5-10 minutes from the Kentucky border.