LEO observation

Use this forum to post your experience with encounters with law enforcement, criminals, or other encounters as a result of your firearm or potential to be carrying one.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

ApexShootingTactics

LEO observation

Post by ApexShootingTactics »

For those who don't know me, I am a full time police officer (working on 14 years as of this post) currently assigned to patrol.

5 years ago I would estimate that approximately 10% of the CHL holders I came in contact with were actually carrying. Over the last few weeks I am seeing a total 180 degree shift. The rarity is coming in contact with a CHL who isn't carrying. Hopefully this trend continues and isn't just a fad because of the times.

Keep packing and keep training because you don't get to choose the time, the time chooses you.
-Andrew

http://apexshooting.com

https://www.facebook.com/ApexShootingTactics

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail. -Benjamin Franklin
carmen fovozzo
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Re: LEO observation

Post by carmen fovozzo »

Stay Safe Out There.....
Life is full of God given coincidences..
A MEMBER OF OFCC SINCE 2004...
Thanks for shopping at Charmin Carmens
Curzyk

Post by Curzyk »

That's a very interesting observation. I suppose that current events are making people feel a lot less safe.
TSiWRX
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Post by TSiWRX »

I echo Carmen's sentiment - you're definitely one of the good guys, Andrew, so please stay safe out there. :)
Allen - Shaker Heights, Ohio
Brian D.

Post by Brian D. »

Just in the last few days I read a Greg Ellifritz article in which he stated that 75% of the carry licensees he stopped on the road didn't have their gun on them at the time. But, he mentioned that some at least had it in the console, glove box, under the seat, etc.

Too, it may have been a reboot of an older article. Andrew, your numbers make me feel a little better today.