M4 DV in Ohio and firearm rights?

Discussion of Firearm Politics & Legislation. This forum is now strictly limited to discussions directly related to firearms.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

slushy_07

M4 DV in Ohio and firearm rights?

Post by slushy_07 »

I was charged with M4 DV and my record was recently expunged. I was going through the ohio and federal law and got lost and confused. Does my record being expunged/ sealed mean my firearm rights are reinstated or do i need to apply for a firearm disability relief also?
SeanC
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: M4 DV in Ohio and firearm rights?

Post by SeanC »

When you write that you were charged with a DV, do you mean you were convicted of a DV? And what was your relationship to the victim (it makes a difference)? When was the conviction?
I am a lawyer; I am not your lawyer.
slushy_07

Post by slushy_07 »

convicted i think i took a plea bargin and it says threat/force on the paperwork it was between my wife and i.
slushy_07

Post by slushy_07 »

they removed the case from the dayton municipal court website already
SeanC
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by SeanC »

You're in sort of a weird spot. Federal law looks to state law to see if there has been a disqualifying conviction. Your conviction certainly disqualifies you. Sealing the record is not the same as an expungement, and my understanding of federal law is that having the record sealed does not turn the conviction into a non-conviction. You can't get a state-law firearms rights restoration because you didn't lose your state rights by virtue of the misdemeanor; the state court can't restore rights you didn't lose under state law.

You've got three options. First, you go back to the court and try to get the conviction set aside. Second, you get a pardon from the governor. Third, you get the ATF to grant your petition for restoration of your rights under federal law.