Ohio waiting period?

Discussion of Firearm Politics & Legislation. This forum is now strictly limited to discussions directly related to firearms.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

eweeks

Ohio waiting period?

Post by eweeks »

Forgive this question, it may seem ignorant. But as I am new to Ohio, I was wondering if anyone could tell me, is there a waiting period when buying a new handgun? I am in Summit County, Akron, if it matters.
Daniel
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by Daniel »

Only if there is a local ordinace requiring it. There isn't in most places.
Daniel White
NRA Training Counselor
Northcoast Firearms Training

We must carry arms because we value our lives and those of our loved ones, because we will not be dealt with by force or threat of force, and do not live at the pleasure and discretion of the lawless. - Jeff Snyder
jgarvas
OFCC Director
OFCC Director

Re: Ohio waiting period?

Post by jgarvas »

eweeks wrote:Forgive this question, it may seem ignorant. But as I am new to Ohio, I was wondering if anyone could tell me, is there a waiting period when buying a new handgun? I am in Summit County, Akron, if it matters.
BTW: The Akron gun show is this weekend. I forgot to go this morning. Its at the Summit County fairgrounds. Since you're new to the area you'd take SR8 northbound to Howe Road, go east on Howe until you get to SR91 and turn left.

The fairgrounds should be a right turn off SR91. If you purchase from a dealer they'll do an FFL check on you at the show as usual.

-jeff
Jeff Garvas, President
Ohioans For Concealed Carry

Contrary to a popular belief when I brag about OFCC accomplishments I'm not looking for your thank you or personal recognition. I'd much prefer you send me an email telling me when you are going to get involved in doing what I've been doing since 1999. We are only as effective as we make ourselves. We need the next generation of OFCC to step to the plate.

Is that you?