Reloading 380 - Questions

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

synack2

Reloading 380 - Questions

Post by synack2 »

Hey all, I am getting ready to attempt loading some 380. It is my first time reloading. I have some basic stuff. A single stage press, a primer installer, a powder scale, some calipers. I think I am figuring it all out. I was looking a Vances yesterday for a small box of 380 bullets and couldn't find any. I am looking at some sites that list the 115Grain as 9mm or 380ACP, but most of my 380's have been 90 or 95 grain. Is 115 grain acceptable in a 380? It looks like the diameters are the same.
Carry everyday everywhere you legally can. I carry a Ruger LCP2 or a Glock 42. Find me on YouTube as FrugalPrepper
mreising

Re: Reloading 380 - Questions

Post by mreising »

The 115 would be on the heavy end of the scale for 380 and you might have difficulty finding appropriate load data. I would think that the biggest problem might be maintaining a satisfactory, i.e., short enough Over All Length while not making the case volume so small that pressure becomes an issue. For many powders, you are looking a ~3.0 +/- grain charges (some less/some more), so the charges are small but so is the case volume. I have not loaded many 380 rounds so my experience with those is limited. For myself, I wouldn't use the 115s for 380, however if you already bought them they are fine for 9mm so you haven't wasted any money. You might want to wait to see if you get other responses.
The tyrant will always find a pretext for his tyranny

Mark
NRA Training Counselor-Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun, Reloading, Personal Protection in the Home, Personal Protection Outside the Home, Home Firearms Safety, Chief RSO. NRA Endowment Life member.
MyWifeSaidYes
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by MyWifeSaidYes »