10mm

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

shortland

10mm

Post by shortland »

all you guys out there please tell me about 10mm im contemplating buying a glock 10mm I heard it hits like a 44mag? from what I seen its a 45 case with 40 cal projectial?
glocksmith

10mm

Post by glocksmith »

I'm no expert on either cartridge, but if you research the ballistics, the 10mm uses lighter bullets than the .44 magnum - and at only slightly higher velocities. Guesstimating the math in my head...the muzzle energy, velocity and bullet weight of the 10mm...therefore its performance level is roughly 65 to 70% of the .44 magnum. IMHO, anyone wanting a snappy auto pistol cartridge would be better served by sticking with .40 S&W or .45acp. The 10mm has never been, nor will ever be a common ie. popular cartridge. I'm guessing that components and ammunition are more scarce and expensive as well. Maybe someone more knowledgable than me will chime in, but this is how I see it.
Give em' Hell Pike!!!
shortland

Re: 10mm

Post by shortland »

I heard its a snappy round has better knock down power,i am carrying a g21 all the time ,love the 45 knock down power.
glocksmith

Post by glocksmith »

A lot depends on what you are going to use it for. If you just want to own a 10mm, that's perfectly fine. But if you're thinking of swapping, I personally don't see any huge benefits since the .45 has for over 100 years proven itself adequate for close range personal protection. For concealed carry and self defense purposes, I think you'd be hard pressed to beat your G21's capacity of 13 rds of .45acp.

Lastly, in a Mad Max scenario, you are much more likely to be able to obtain .45 than the much less common 10mm.
Give em' Hell Pike!!!
OhioPaints

Post by OhioPaints »

The 10mm pressures are a lot higher than a .45, it is not like a .45 case.