Vance Bullets

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

mzimov

Vance Bullets

Post by mzimov »

I've been using Vance lead bullets for a few years now; I shoot about 500 rounds a week. I've used the 45 cal. 200 gr. LSWC and the 230 gr. LRN. These are about the most affordable bullets available locally in bulk. Lately, the price has been increased from $29/500 to $32/500 at a gun store in Cincinnati, $35 at the gun shows directly from Vance's (I don't know why they are higher at the gun shows, but I refuse to buy them there out of principle).

My issue revolves around quality control. Lately, seems like every other box has bullets encased in blue lube. So much lube is left on the bullets that it builds up on the mouth of my chamber, and throws the accuracy off substantially. Why is the price going up and the quality going down? Maybe the store I buy them from gets the bottom of the barrel in terms of quality, but they aren't sold as seconds.

I'm experimenting with other manufacturers' bullets from the internet. Missouri Bullet Company has a decent price and seems to promote quality, so we'll see. Anyway, someone needs to send Vance's a message about jacking up prices on crap. Nothing is as dissappointing as opening a box of badly needed bullets and finding they need scraping with a pocket knife prior to loading.
Brian D.

Post by Brian D. »

Vance's has had those issues before. They are a small outfit attempting to serve a rather large customer base, and sometimes the hurry-up shows in that manner. By all means, look around at what their competitors are offering.
Quit worrying, hide your gun well, shut up, and CARRY that handgun!

********************************************************************************
1911 and Browning Hi Power Enthusianado.
weakhand luke

Post by weakhand luke »