confused--reloading equipment

To learn and introduce new loaders. Tips and tricks from old timers.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

66 deuce coupe

confused--reloading equipment

Post by 66 deuce coupe »

Just did a search here for reloading info.
A lot of good things said about Lee Pro 1000 for handgun loads but not rifle.But nobody actually said why.
I want to start with 223, and yes I'm a newbie.But I do have a friend who is more than willing to teach all the ins and outs and tricks.
He's just the type of guy who is not comfortable recommending equipment.

So my question is, why not the Lee 1000 for rifle loads?

BTW, my friend has reloaded for 20 yrs, everything from trap loads, handgun and rifle loads.
when threatened,let GOD sort em out!

For Evil to survive, it takes only for one GOOD man to do nothing.
Whirlwind06
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Post by Whirlwind06 »

Maybe a lot of people that reload for rife are going for match grade loads. And you don't do match grade loads on a progressive press?
Just speculating, on that. There is more to rifle reloading, then pistol reloading. I know you have to be more aware of case length. For one thing.
Last edited by Whirlwind06 on Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mreising

Post by mreising »

The Pro1000 has a limited stroke, ~3.5" if I remember correctly. It will reload 223 and some other short rifle rounds but it is primarily a handgun press. Whirlind's comments about there being more to rifle reloading is correct, especially if you shoot bottleneck cartridges in semi-auto rifles where you have to full length re-size them. Bolt action rifles will tolerate neck-sizing of cases previously fired in that gun. Overall length and case trimming become a bigger issue with rifle cartridges, because of the bottleneck cases and high pressures which cause more stretching of the brass cases.