Age Restrictions for Open Carry

Open Carry is carrying a firearm unconcealed in Ohio. OC does not require a concealed handgun license, but the practice requires intimate knowledge of the law since there are places and situations where OC is prohibited but carrying concealed would be permitted. OC is also likely to attract attention. This forum is for discussion of OC, not for debating the pro's and con's or coordinating any type of protest events.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

sd790
OFCC Patron Member
OFCC Patron Member

Age Restrictions for Open Carry

Post by sd790 »

My pre-teen daughter and I are looking forward to OC'ing in Oberlin with like-minded folks. Since I have no experience OC'ing, I want to learn more about the restrictions (infringements) in ORC and USC. I did some digging this morning and as expected, I am less clear than before I started. I heard (and confirmed in USC) that my daughter needs to possess a written permission slip from me prior to carrying, even though I will be there at all times. :roll:

One thing that I found that confuses me is the minimum age requirement that is stated on http://www.opencarry.org/?page_id=286" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;. This page states that minimum age in Ohio is 18. Although this is different than what I always thought and I haven't been able to find and related ORC, I've learned to "trust, but verify" sites like that.

Do you have any insight or thoughts? Like I said, my daughter and I are looking forward to OC'ing in Oberlin on Sunday and I just want to know the details of the law before we go have a fun picnic.
NRA Certified Pistol Instructor
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
techguy85

Re: Age Restrictions for Open Carry

Post by techguy85 »

R.C. 2923.21 states:
(A) No person shall do any of the following: