State of residence vs state of issue?

This forum is for discussion of general issues regarding Concealed Carry in your everyday life. This forum is not intended to be political or for discussing legislation.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

jhouse72

State of residence vs state of issue?

Post by jhouse72 »

I lived in Ohio and had a valid CHL. I moved to Florida, got my FL CHL, but have moved back to Ohio. Is my FL CHL valid/recognized now that I'm an Ohio resident again?
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Re: State of residence vs state of issue?

Post by JustaShooter »

Yes. Ohio allows residents to carry on the license of a state with which we have a reciprocity agreement, and since Ohio has a written agreement with Florida an Ohio resident can carry here on a FL license.

BTW, there are benefits to having a license issued by your state of residence, not the least of which is the exception to the Federal Gun Free School Zones Act, so you may want to consider renewing your Ohio license. If you still have the actual license, even if expired, you can simply renew it for a $50 renewal fee.
Christian, Husband, Father
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
NRA Certified Pistol & Rifle Instructor

Want to become more active with OFCC and help fight for your rights? Click Here!
jhouse72

Post by jhouse72 »

Will do, thank you!
willbird
OFCC Member
OFCC Member

Post by willbird »

MI does not recognize your FL license if you are now an OH resident, MI is not the only state either but MI is our closest neighbor that does not recognize non resident CCW.

Bill
Have a great day today unless you have made other plans :-).
JustaShooter
OFCC Coordinator
OFCC Coordinator

Post by JustaShooter »

willbird wrote:MI does not recognize your FL license if you are now an OH resident, MI is not the only state either but MI is our closest neighbor that does not recognize non resident CCW.
PA also does not, nor does SC,