Carry in Commercial Vehicle?

This forum is for discussion of general issues regarding Concealed Carry in your everyday life. This forum is not intended to be political or for discussing legislation.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

rdavis

Carry in Commercial Vehicle?

Post by rdavis »

Hi, I'm kinda new to the forum, and was wondering if anybody else has ever researched the legality of carrying in a commercial truck. I am a driver and have refrained from carrying in my truck because I am not clear on the law. I was under the impression that the federal authorities shifted the enforcement of such laws to the states. However I can find no verification of this. I also travel through many states in a weeks time including some that do not recognize my OH CCW. If anybody knows of a good source for this information I would be most grateful.
Thanks in advance.
rouger10

Re: Carry in Commercial Vehicle?

Post by rouger10 »

rdavis wrote:Hi, I'm kinda new to the forum, and was wondering if anybody else has ever researched the legality of carrying in a commercial truck. I am a driver and have refrained from carrying in my truck because I am not clear on the law. I was under the impression that the federal authorities shifted the enforcement of such laws to the states. However I can find no verification of this. I also travel through many states in a weeks time including some that do not recognize my OH CCW. If anybody knows of a good source for this information I would be most grateful.
Thanks in advance.
Welcome to the forum.

Try this link
http://www.handgunlaw.us/
EdK

Commercial

Post by EdK »

IANAL, but this`question comes up now and then on the XM Radio trucker shows. The answer seems to be, NOT ALLOWED TO CARRY. The reason is commercial vehicles fall under DOT rules, which prohibit some things that non-commercial laws allow. One good example is radar detectors are not allowed in commercial vehicles even if legal in a given state.
EdK