Inexpensive AR Optics

This is where you can talk about all equipment issues; firearms, ammunition, magazines, care & repair, holsters, gun cases, etc.

Moderators: Chuck, Mustang380gal, Coordinators, Moderators

Scorpion

Inexpensive AR Optics

Post by Scorpion »

I am fairly new to the AR platform but completely new to optics. I am looking good to replace my rear carry handle sight with optics of some sort, but I want to start out with inexpensive optics until I figure out what I really want.

I see many red dot and low powered scopes on Amazon in the $50 ballpark (give or take) that seem to have very good reviews. Not sure if I want the ability to zoom more or journey a red dot for quicker target acquisition. I also have a fixed front sight that may come into play if the optic can co-witness with that.

Looking for some recommendations on entry level optics I can play with that are inexpensive but not junk until I can afford to move into higher end optics. Also something still usable if batteries die.
ArmedAviator

Re: Inexpensive AR Optics

Post by ArmedAviator »

NCStar optics are cheap, but don't expect them to last too long. They are made for .22 rimfire or BB guns, as are all of the cheap stuff.

When I first got my AR, I thought it'd be cool to have an NCStar that mimicked an ACOG with 3-9x zoom. Nope. Nixed that in 9 months - was too heavy, and also not quite what I wanted. I went to a cheapo $40 red dot from the local sporting good store, and that felt better for the purpose of the rifle, and was light. I finally got an EOTech and liked that until this past winter when the reticle started disappearing and I lucked out as they were voluntarily refunding full purchase price for their optics due to a military lawsuit. I now have an Aimpoint PRO and love the thing. Rock solid, long battery life, easy to use. Easily shoot accurately out to 250 yards. Maybe further if I take my time and wear glasses instead of contacts.
Good luck and stand fast, true Patriots.